redhat 9

Guest c_m_f

Guest c_m_f

ok...well im the first :D

also what is redhat 9 like, i dont paticularly liek teh ethics of redhat, but is this such a major jump as to another version number release?

Guest Grimey

I'm a noob so I don't really notice that much differences but I have used it and I dunno, I just didn't like how it ran. Can't really be any more specific then that except that I really dont' care for Red Hat at all. Just my opinion...

I use redhat on my work machine (they won't let me use mandrake, no clue why-tho I doubt that'd know it if I used mandrake instead) and I don't care for it much. It looks nice and all, but I've gotten so used to mandrakes setup and tools that I don't find redhat to be all that "user-friendly" in the end.

just my two cents.

Well, RedHat 9 is not really a major jump. Its basically 8.1, but since Mandrake was releasing 9.1 and Suse is about to release 9.0 also... RedHat decided it should be on version 9 too.

Notice that they dont call it 9.0. Next version wil be 10.

Those version number are stupids. It's like which company will get to 129876239872983742983 the first. Come on .. I think the company should promote their release by names instead of numbers. Like Windows (doh) did with WinMe and XP.. they stoped to talk about number. I really prefer to talk about Mandrake Bamboo than Mandrake 9.1. Just my personnal opinion..

MOtts

RH9 is named Shrike... thats some kind of anti radiation missle used to target radar. Very... John Wayne.

Preferred 8.1 (beta) though... named Pheobe. That was much better. I'drather be reminded of Pheobe Kates.

In my opinion the names for Mandrake distro's blow..

bamboo >>> cummon.

RedHat use cool names like psyche and sea wolf .!!!

Their names are hardcore as apposed to mdk's soft names.!!