getting ready for gentoo

OK - I'm seriously considering putting gentoo on my system, just to try it out. To be honest, I'm not certain I'm really ready, but I figured I'd give it a go and see if I learn anything on the way.

I have some questions though:

1) stage 1 tarball is apparently for bootstrapping - so what's that then? :?

2) Which stage should I start at - the site says 3 for the first time, but I want quite a lean system so I'm thinking maybe 2. I have recompiled a kernel before to a bootable(if not perfect) stage so I'm not a complete newbie by any means. I read an article by a newbie about how he installed from stage 2 with the help of the docs and it all went fairly smoothly. I'd be interested to know anyone's opinions on this

3) Is 1.4_rc4 the way to go, or is there a more stable version?

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi phunny

1) stage 1 tarball is apparently for bootstrapping - so what's that then?  :?

Bootstrapphing is installing and compiling what is required to compile the rest of the system. It basically install libraries and compile them twice. I suggest you to read the 'installing Gentoo HowTo' before trying to install it actually. Here it is:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-install.xml

Description of what the bootstap process is here:

Installing from a stage1 takes a lot of time, but the result is a system that has been optimized from the ground up for your specific machine and needs.

bootstrap.sh will build binutils, gcc, gettext, and glibc, rebuilding binutils, gcc, and gettext after glibc. Needless to say, this process takes a while. Once this process completes, your system will be equivalent to a "stage2" system, which means you can now move on to the stage2 instructions