Best way to support Mandrakesoft???

mousematt

What is better for Mandrakesoft? Do I buy another boxset (9.2 Powerpack Plus for AUD $125) or do I join the MandrakeClub (AUD $100)?

I can't afford to do both. I'm only a poor student... financially and literally... *meant to be writing esay atm... this is more entertaining*

Anyone's thoughts? Shiny new box or a club membership?

mousematt @ Murdoch Uni in Australia

On second though: Ixthusdan has a point: buying boxed sets means it will make sense for resellers to allocate shelve space for Mandrake, and to have packs in stock. Since RH shelve space became largely available (they don't believe in linux on the home desktop, CEO Szulik even said that people should just use windows at home - yeah right) this might be a nice gap for Mandrake to fill.

In the end, MS makes most of the money on preinstalled systems, so that's really where Mandrake should go too...

Marketing? First get the quality up. That remains to be seen, but beta--rc--CE--OE may be it... so far so good.

Next step, make sure you don't lose customers, this is more important than grabbing some new ones.

If mdk10oe is really good, we may see it on preinstalled systems, and as you all know, that is where the big gains are to be made imho...

Well long term its the marketing strategy and club membership gives a chance to actually give an opinion although it wont necasarily be listened to.

I always bought RETAIL boxsets to get it on the shelves BUT ...

Agan MDK are screwing themselves....

I still see 9.0 and 9.1 on shelves whenever I d see it and ive never seen a DVD version....

If Mandrake want to succeed they need a good marketing stragtegy including recalling old versions and replaceing them else they are giving a poor impression.