Devices don't mount anymore after kernel install

Earny

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hmmm... I'm not sure I can help, but I know we'll need to know what kernel you installed?

Can you tell us:

1) which specific kernel you installed ?

2) how you did it? (i.e. what command did you use? urpmi, rpm -Uvh, install software, etc.)

3) did you edit /etc/lilo.conf? and then run the lilo -v command before restarting?

with the answers to these questions, the veterans will be more able to help! (I'm just a rookie...you may need a veteran for this one) :)

For future reference, you should not update the kernel using Mandrake Control Center's tools.

I do not understand why they don't disable that ability as it can cause problems. Hang on and let's let some of the more experienced guys help us out a bit.

I think we can get you going but will take some fixing.

The kernel rpm should be something like:

9.2/RPMS/kernel-2.4.22.21mdk-1-1mdk.i586.rpm

When you say marcelo is that the mirror or update site you used?

EDIT: Looks like this is a cooker kernel or did you get it from kernel.org?

http://speakeasy.rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/coo....2mdk.i586.html

No it was on the install disk. If you use the control centre/software and you search for kernel, the marcelo kernel file is one of the options. As an outright Linux igorant I guessed that this would be ok. I wanted to install the kernel as it was missing in the usr/scr directory. I need it in order to install the Wacom Graphire driver. (In Knoppix it works without doing anything, so why not in Mandrake?)

Sorry for delay... I am in SE Asia and I think you are in Europe, right? So we have a big time gap between us. I am just waking up here.

Yes, the MCC thing needs to be able to block you from doing a kernel upgrade or be fixed to do the kernel upgrade properly. What a pain!

We still need some of the more experienced bunch to help us out. I am not sure I know enough to help you.