problem with networking

Guest khmer_kid

Guest khmer_kid

hi! i had trouble try to networking with my (xp) computer....

my (xp) computer is connecting to internet through DSL, while i wanted (linux) connect through (xp) how do i manage to do that...

i try to create network from (xp) follow the wizard and create a floppy disk then insert in (linux) but when i try to open the files it ask me to open with another program support which i do not understand for one bit (im a noob/newbie to this) please help

Hi khmer_kid. Welcome on the forum!

You don't need the floppy created by the Windows XP wizard really. You have to:

-On the Windows XP box:

Go through the wizard to allow Internet Connection Sharing (ICS). Btw, to do that, this box needs 2 ethernet cards .. 1 connected to the DSL modem and the other to the Linux box or to a hub.

-On the Linux box:

Look in the menu and open the Mandrake Control Center (MCC). Now, clic Network & Internet and then select DrakConnect. Down there you'll see a button to launch a wizard.. clic it. Follow the steps to connect to the net through your LAN (Local Area Network). At the end of this wizard, open your favorite browser (I use Konqueror) and type in http://www.google.com/linux . There we go =)

HTH

MOttS

Guest khmer_kid

kool... i cannot do this now, because im at school i will try to follow your instruction when i get back home... anyway for linux everything is so different i dont know anything or command to use, is there another way i can learn how to use it... or do i have to know alot of programming language to be able to use?

anyway for linux everything is so different i dont know anything or command to use, is there another way i can learn how to use it...