Motherboard and Graphic Card Issues

Guest LizardKing

Guest LizardKing

Hi there!

I'm a newbie on Linux so please be patient with me :)

I just installed Mandrake 10.0 and everything seems to work fine apart from the graphics. I have a Gigabyte GN7400 L motherboard with nForce chipset and a MSI gForce 5600 XT 256MB . I have read the FAQ about how to install the Nvidia drivers, but I'm not sure wheter I have to install the nForce driver for my motherb as well. And if I have to, do it before or after installing the drivers for the graphic card.

I'd really appreciatte you could help me with this issue.

Byez

Guest LizardKing

Ok thanks!

But wouldn't it decrease my system performance if I dont install drivers for my motherb? And in case I want to install them...where do I get them? Nvidia web page or Gigabyte?

Thanks for the help :lol:

see my post #2 in This Thread for Nvidia driver install comments. go to the "HERE" link in my comments for the install instructions.

Chris

I think we're talking about 2 different kinds of nvidia drivers here!

There are the graphic card drivers, which is what people here think qabout when they say nvidia drivers

There is the chipset driver (nForce, nForce2,...) which to the best of my knowledge don't exist in linux, everything you need is basically built in the kernel. IT's different from windows where after doing a windows isntall you end up installing the chipset drivers (nforce for via, Hyperion 4-in-1 for via, ...)

There is the chipset driver (nForce, nForce2,...) which to the best of my knowledge don't exist in linux, e

Not exactly. If you have kernel 2.6.x, then you don't need NForce driver, but if you are running kernel 2.4.x, then you will need NForce driver for the built in NIC. You may also need the NForce driver if you want support for more than two speakers.

Anyway, the driver for NForce is also located at NVidia's site. And the installation method is the same as NVidia graphic driver.

Guest LizardKing

Hey!