Mandriva 2007 Spring disappointing

Srikar

Hi,

Im a linux newbie who used Mandriva 2007 and recently upgraded to 2007 Spring. I run my Presario V3000z laptop entirely on Mandriva (no Windows also). Now im facing some really frustrating problems on Mandriva Spring.

1) When I switch on 3D desktop using Beryl, my Wireless LAN doesn't work.The symbol in the system tray suggests that it is still connected,but none of the web pages turn up. I have configured Wireless over ndiswrapper with Windows drivers. Recently, this problem has slowly crept into the non-3D desktop scenario also. I know this is not a Wireless router problem as the Vista laptops just beside me connect fine.

2) When I switch on the 3D desktop over Beryl and start watching any vidoes over Kaffeine or KMPlayer, the video gets stuck periodically and don't get rendered smoothly. On disablng of the 3D desktop, the video's runs fine.

3) The headphones and the microphone jack don't work at all. Tried upgrading to ALSA 1.0.14rc3,but that entirely screwed up my sound.

I use the nvidia 9755 drivers downloaded from the nvidia site,not the Madriva plf drivers. The laptop hardware specs are Turion X2 1.86 Ghz, NVidia Go 6150, 2 GB RAM, Broadcom 4310 Wireless, 80 GB SATA 5400 rpm.

The output of lsmod | grep snd incase you need the sound specs are

snd_seq_dummy 3364 0

snd_seq_oss 29088 0

snd_seq_midi_event 6880 1 snd_seq_oss

snd_seq 46576 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event

snd_seq_device 6892 3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq

snd_pcm_oss 38880 0

snd_mixer_oss 15072 1 snd_pcm_oss

snd_hda_intel 15124 1

snd_hda_codec 154688 1 snd_hda_intel

snd_pcm 65956 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec

snd_timer 18692 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm

snd_page_alloc 8136 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

snd 44228 11 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_h

da_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer

Plz help, as Im thinking seriously about switching back to Vista or XP.

Edited by Srikar