I'm installing gentoo

It's my first time (on gentoo), I tried installling gentoo on my pentium 3 450Mhz 196MB RAM... though I was able to install the base, no gui.... then, yesterday, I tried to install KDE... just #emerge -k kde ... installing it via internet, I think it already downloaded everything, but until now, it still compiling...is this how it should be.. or might be that my pc is just too slow? :unsure:

Kanotix will take you 30 minutes to install, and won't be slower than Gentoo, which would need at least 4 days to finish the same packages.

On such a machine you could also try Vector Linux- it should really work nicely.

That's slow.

Archie's new hard drive installer which will be in the next release gives you a full desktop install in 10 minutes, flash, thunderbird, firefox, abiword, xchat, inkscape, gimp, gaim, gvim, beep-media-player/xmms, gftp and more.

Edited by iphitus

I recommend people to stay away from the debian based distro's, ones like Mepis, Kanotix and so on because they just seem badly broken. Ubuntu is the only one that seems kinda stable and that's because they make there own packages.

I recommend people to stay away from the debian based distro's, ones like Mepis, Kanotix and so on because they just seem badly broken. Ubuntu is the only one that seems kinda stable and that's because they make there own packages.

oh oh... don't tell us that debian based distros are not worth our time because it didn't work for you. i didn't have any problems with mepis, kanotix, knopix, beatrix and other debian based distros. it REALLY depends on the computer you use. i could say e.g. gentoo is shit. but this would be only my opinion, based on my personal experiences with special hardware in a special box. then i buy a new box and suddenly gentoo works. so ... is gentoo still shit then? (or any other distro)

btw.: gentoo is nice. not that you assume that i dislike gentoo. :)