No ping - no internet [SOLVED]

Postman

Hi there everyone! Here's a total newbie to linux with a total experience of it all of about 24 hours which of the last 23 has been to get my newly installed Mandrake 10 to connect to my router. Here are the facts

I have cabelconnection to my router (D-Link DI-614+ rev B) and to the router I've connected one box with XP which is working fine.

I have installed Mandrake 10.0 on another box which I've managed to get up and running. I've also managed to get the D-Link DWL-520+ to install thanks to Craig's Acx100 Guide. I manage to ping my router from Mandrake locally and I manage to ping Mandrake from my router locally however when I try to ping a www-address I just get a ping: unknown host *********** message....

What am I doing wrong? What can I do to get it right?

Edited by Postman

It sounds like your missing DNS info - can you paste the output of /etc/resolv.conf here and we'll take a look!

It says

nameserver 192.168.1.1

but that's because I've echoed that in there, I've also tried 192.168.0.1 and I've tried 195.67.199.3 and 195.67.199.4 which are my ISP's nameservers...

In start_net I've set 1 on using DHCP but when I run the ./start_net command I get an error reading wlan0 failed to associate, can't use DHCP for IP address

But I've also set the script to use 192.168.0.198 as IP-adress and when I ping the router it works...as well as when I let the router ping the other way...

I was also reading this and I took a look inside my ifcfg-wlan0 file which reads...

DEVICE=wlan0

BOOTPROTO=dhcp

ONBOOT=yes

could it be something wrong in that scriptfile?

Edited by Postman

If I'm reading this correctly, you're using wireless networking and get assigned an address by dhcp - but the dhcp isn't working?

I'm getting a little confused as in your original post you mentioned a "cable connection" - by this do you mean you're also using a wired network, or that you have cable internet?