Athlon Install Problems

Guest bmoyle

Hi Guys,

I have been using linux off and on for about 3 years, but never with a gui etc. Not I have decided to take the plunge and install Mandrake 10 Official onto a box to get away for mircoshalf. Problem is that I can't get it to work, I have tried using 4 different athlon systems, but it crashes on install every time. So I'll give a run down of what I have got and what I have tried and see if you guys can spot my problem (other than inexperience).

Machine 1: Athlon 2600, 256 DDR Ram, Nforce motherboard, cd-rom, keyboard

Machine 2: Athlon 2600, 256 DDR Ram, Nforce motherboard, cd-rom, keyboard (different box)

Machine 3: Athlon 2000, 256 DDR Ram, Nforce motherboard, cd-rom, keyboard

Machine 4: Duron 900, 256 DDR Ram, no idea about the board, cd-rom, keyboard

Okies, all the equipment is different in each machine. I have tried 4 different CD-roms. I have tried 2 different downloaded ISO sets and check the checksums on all of the discs.

I can get the system to install on the old duron, but it crashes fairly easily once up and running, but I think the ram module is alittle stuffed.

The athlons don't get passed the formating stage normally, if they do they freeze on installing the selected packages

I have installed a system on the duron then put the harddrive into an althon and this seems to work, but it a very big waste of time. I really would like to get this going as I have clients that are interested in going completly open source and I would like to offer them mandrake a a solution.

I have disabled apic in the bios.

I also tried community version, but that won't even boot off cd and freezes using a boot floppy.

I am really wanting to use this distro, but I am starting to feel that it is not worth it if I can't use it on my computers (or clients).

Also the computers came from different suppliers and run windows and debian fine.

Please give me some answers, suggestions, etc. This has really stumped me.