Mandriva 2008 Spring DVD - Install help (please)

dubbed

Dear mandrivausers

Please bear with me on this - I am a complete Linux newbie ... but a newbie commited to learn something ... new.

System:

1GB ram

Western Digital Caviar HD @ 15gb (has Unbuntu installed) or 250gb Maxtor PATA DiamondMax21 (formatted)

Athlon 1800xp

GeForce 2 Graphics (I think) - The mobo doesn't have ob graphics.

Initial problem: Mandriva 1008 Spring DVD (from Linux Format magazine) - Splash screen loads. Click on Install. Kernel loads 100%. Second splash screen with progess bar in bottom left starts, and then hangs at about 99%.

I have tried to install on a freshly formatted 250gb HD, then on another HD which has ubuntu 8.04 (note, ubuntu works fine - only I don't know how to install drivers and what not!). It hangs on both, as above.

So, I've spent a week searching for resolves for this, have found a few answers that didn't work, and am now at a loss.

I have tried modifying the Boot Option with "linux noapic nolapic acpi=off ide=nodma" (whithout the quotes) in various order - some, all, one off, etc but get no where at all. It could be that I am modifying the Boot Option incorrectly, as I am adding the noapic to the end of the string that is automatically there.

Eg: initrd=alt0/all.rdz automatic=method:cdrom vga=788 splash=verbose linux noapic nolapic acpi=off ide=nodma

I have tried Splash=0 and verbose, as well. Also, reducing the screensize option.

Verbose gives me a better idea of what is happening:

Loading programme in to memory (100% red bar)

proceeding, please wait...

exited abnormally -- received signal 11

sending termination signals... done

sending kill signals...done

unmounting file systems...

/tmp/media

/tmp/stage2

/dev/loop0

you may safely reboot or halt your system

Any help would be very gratefully received.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic