Mandrake 9.1 vs. Redhat 9

Guest Graeme43

Mandrake Vs. Redhat  

1. 1. Mandrake Vs. Redhat

• Mandrake 9.1
    • Redhat 9

Guest Graeme43

Ok, i have the CD's of Mandrake 9.1 and Redhat 9, but i like Mandrake better as it is easier to customize the looks first time you start the user account

BUT

I get no sound and cant find any help and dont know if its worth it as Redhat 9 gives me sound : :cry:

i hate GNOME as well :x

Redhat Vs. Mandake

Say Why

Guest anon
I get no sound and cant find any help

I find that difficult to believe on this board.

Have you posted your sound card problem in the software forum?? Please include the details of your sound card and the error messages you encounter.

EDIT

I see you have, please respond to this post by tyme. http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewtopic.php...p?p=42153#42153

Guest xaff

I would have to say Mandrake, I've had some bad experiences with RedHat. (Such as spending the entire day trying to recompile php to support mysql, searching newsgroups and at the end of the day just deciding to shut down the box and find another less special distro.)

Guest anon
he has a post going about his sound card.  we (Ix and I) were busy getting his video card working right, now i've just started in on working on the soundcard issue.

Seems we posted same time, see my edited post above :D

You are asking this question in a Mandrake Users Board? :)

Anyway.. be patient, there are many people here who are willing to help. It's strange that your SB Live is not detected. Maybe all you have to do is just unmute the soundcard using aumix or kmix or whatever?

Tyme has already said, Graeme43, you posted several problems at 11:57AM my local time. At 12:08PM, you received your first response from me. I note that you did indeed get your video card going. Good job!