To Gentoo or not to Gentoo

Guest retab

Guest retab

Hello Gentoo Guys,

I'm a newbie who installed Linux (MDK 9.1 powerpack) for the first time only 2 days ago. For a long time I watched my friends using MDK and learned many things. So when I installed it on my system it went so easy, and I changed and played with so many things almost eveywhere in its configuration files.

Now the word Gentoo is ringing in my head. The question is:

After all the hard stuff of Gentoo's installation that I'm hearing about, can one make a Gentoo on his system that is so easy to use like MDK's? I mean KDE multilanguage desktop and all the multimedia and CD burning stuff, etc. etc.?

And do you think Gentoo will survive longer than MDK?

Please note that I know a little about the command-line things (vi, mounting, links, ls, man,... less than 50 commands). HD partitions are very easy for me.

Thanks for all the comments that you'll post .

gentoo is fantastic for learning linux properly. I've been using linux( mandrake) for almost two years and I still felt like a newbie because, although I'd learnt loads, I had tools to do all the hard stuff for me.

So I switched to gentoo. Only been a few weeks now and I've already learnt an enourmous amount.

If you follow the instructions to the letter, then the install is actually quite easy - if VERY lengthy.

The only recommendation I'd make is that, if you're not familiar with recompiling you kernel, it's worth having a few practices with the mandrake sources before you try to install gentoo - whihc requires you to compile your own kernel.

Once you are fairly confident with that then wait till you have a spare weekend (trust me you'll need at least that long)and go for it.

There are a few people on this forum who can help you with the install - I may even be able to offer a few words of help myself :wink: