TNT2 graphic card is slower then winxp

Guest killogge

Guest killogge

hey,

I'm kinda new to linux, and I've racked my brains over this problem :cry: .....I have a compaq computer 1GHZ intel CPU, 512 memory, TNT2 video card, and dual booted with winxp and mandrake 8.2 (need to update I know)...k?

My problem is windows runs NWN great...but linux is really slow :cry: , I almost can't play it....If any more info is needed, I try to give, but like I said, I'm really new to linux. Thanx!! :)

I'm guessing you still using the default drivers. The Nvidia drivers that come with Mandrake are open source and not all that good. They're a bit like the generic drivers that come with Windows, ok but not really that good. You'll need to install Nvidia's own drivers fo decent results. There's plenty of posts on the forum to tell you how.

The Nvidia drivers that come with Mandrake are open source and not all that good.
Sounds as if they are not good because the drivers are open source. The reality is very different. If NVIDIA does not release the specs of their hardware (or develop open source driver themselves), open source drivers will always suffer.

Guest JaseP

Welcome killogge,...

I see you made it here from the NWN forums.

You noticed the first responses to your post were within a half-hour of your initial post?!?!