install "make"

Guest Spartan06

Guest Spartan06

This may seem like a total noob question, and it is frustrating that I have to waste your guys' time asking this, but here we go. I am running the "totally free" version of Mandriva 2008 from the official website.

I was trying to install my bcm43xx wireless chip and I managed to figure that out. I got to a step where the instruction told me to run "make installfw" however it told me that "make:command not found". I finally found out that apparently I didn't have "make" installed (isn't "make" supposed to be standard? How do you install programs other wise?! :wall: )

In any case I found a post of some forum saying that I need to go to the software installation manager, search for make, and install it from there. I got to that point and all I found was "makedev" and it was already installed. I have the official install cd it is called "Mandriva One", but I don't have access to a wired internet connection where I am now. Only wireless. I can dual boot into windows and download things there, I can burn cds there as well.

So my question is how do I install the make command on Mandriva without being able to access the internet on linux, only on windows?

Thank you for your time

Edited by Spartan06

as root (type su followed by you password) in a terminal: urpmi make or from the mandriva control go to install software and install make but my guess is there has to be an easier way to get your wireless working but I dont have wireless, so I dont know....

Welcome to MUB btw :D

ps: see http://wiki.mandrivausers.org/index.php/Software_management on how to install software

Edited by ffi

Guest Spartan06

Ok I'll try that, be back in about a minute...

Edit: Ok so it seems that urpmi is not installed either...

rpm is apparently installed. So is there a place where I can find the rpm for make?

Edit2: Ok I found a make for Mandriva 2007 at rpm.pbone.net called "make-3.81-1mdv2007.0.i586.rpm"