CD-RW question...

nerdzyboy

I just bought a liteon 48x/24x/48x (CD-RW) 

Does it works with mandrake 9.1?

You have provided little useful info. What model is it ?

The best way is to plug it in. Then enable scsi emulation. Then try burning a cd.

I installed a LiteOn 48 x 24 x 48 model LTR 48246S last weekend. As a newbie, I got a bit lost, but overall it went well. You might read my post:

http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewtopic.php...3669&highlight= ://http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewto...669&highlight= ://http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewto...669&highlight=

and learn from my mistakes. :oops:

But actually, it worked well, the info on this board is VERY HELPFUL and you should have no problems if you follow the advice given. If you get lost, remember it really helps to post your fstab and lilo.cfg and identify your cd devices well. It will save time if you provide that info so the experts here can help you. Good luck!

I believed that it would be easier for you to burn CDs if you install the LITEON CD-RW before the installation of Mandrake Linux. Many configurations about CD-R and CD-RW are automatically set during the Mandrake Linux Installation process. I tried Mandrake 8.2 for a CD-R. It was successful. After the installation, I can easy burn CDs using Gcombust.

However, I am trying to purchase a cheap (under $70) CD-R for my Mandrake Linux 9.1. Does anyone know the good products of CD-R to buy for Mandrake Linux? Does LITEON (LTR-52246s) 52x24x52x CD-Rewritable or MITSUMI 52X24X52 CD-RW Drive CR-487ETE-BK work and automatically configured during the Mandrake installation process?

I am sure that both of them will work. It is easier to have Mandrake do it all duing an install, but there still may be more to do, especially if you have a cd reader in the system like do. So learning how to set it up is also good. Then you can keep a back up of your /etc/fstab file in your /home directory, and just copy it out everytime you do an install. :wink: