KDE messed up in 2007 Free [solved]

dude67

I'm a real newbie and green to Linux world even though I have used Mandriva 2006 Free for almost a year now.

I updated to Mandriva 2007 Free a few days ago from a DVD-version DL'ed from an official site. Everything was great - all personal settings were fine and dandy. I'm using KDE as my major GUI. But KAT was a problem. I seem to remember de-activating KAT in 2006 also as it kept crashing.

Now it also crached KDE Daemon and I was unable to use my external USB mass memories (I have three external USB HDs - Brand LaCie). It either said that KDED is not running or Mediamanager was not installed. After I started KDED again, it usually worked fine. On other occasions I got the message "Permissions denied", when I tried to access my desktop shortcuts to the external USB HDs.

To see if an update would help I wanted to update to KDE 3.5.5 and had a go with the MDE 3.5.5 KDE through the directions from this post https://mandrivausers.org/index.php?showtopic=36298&hl=

That really messed up my KDE...

I couldn't have multiple desktops, I couldn't move any of the windows that I opened, the last application was alway on top... And most likely some of the privileges were changed (if I remember correctly).

I tried to un-install KDE in total and managed that. At first I reinstalled KDE, but it was the same MDE version that was there earlier. I tried to unmark the MDE path from the update, but obviously I was unsuccessful.

Then I urpme'd again the whole KDE now using what what was suggested at MDE site: http://www.mde.djura.org/kde_install_2007_32.html

I used "init 3" to access non-graphical interface. I then uprme'd the whole KDE and urpmi'd it back again, using only the original (official) mirrors (and not from MDE path).

Now I'm unable to start any GUI: No Ice, no KDE, no Gnome - no nothing!