Can't write to DVD [solved]

neddie

Hi all,

Just been trying to write my first DVD (I usually just backup to CD-R and CD-RW) and K3b doesn't like it. So I went over to the dark side and that didn't like it either (Exporer and Sonic RecordNow). The error messages from K3b are "media is not formatted or unsupported", "write failed: Wrong medium type", "K3b detected a problem with the media", "Please try another media brand, preferably one explicitly recommended by your writer's vendor". Am I using the wrong kind of blank perhaps?

The drive is a built-in laptop drive, the laptop is a Dell Inspiron 510m and the drive is apparently an NEC ND-6500A. According to the nec website, it should be able to cope with DVD-R, DVD+R and DVD-RW, even double layer. Write speed for DVD-R is given as 8x. The drive can read all kinds of CDs, write CD-Rs and CD-RWs, can read DVDs but I've never tried writing DVDs before.

So I went to the shops and couldn't find any blanks marked as 8x, so I got a pack of DVD-R marked as "1-16x". They're TDK, DVD-R, 4.7GB single sided, 1-16x speed, and that's about all it says.

Hunting further I found a list of "empfohlene Medien" on nec.de which even mentions TDK, but at speed 4x. I can't find any blanks in the shop less than 16x, but I figured 1-16x was covering my bases. Maybe not?

A colleague suggested I might have to upgrade the firmware (mine says 202c), but that looks like a minefield with different version numbers, conflicting information and a few notes saying that doesn't work for OEM models from Dell.

Any ideas? Should I take my blanks back to the shop and try to find something with 4x written on it?

Edited by neddie

Hi neddie,

First, check if you have the same as me installed:

[ian@esprit ~]$ rpm -qa | grep k3b
libk3b2-0.12.3-11mdk
k3b-dvd-0.12.3-11mdk
k3b-0.12.3-11mdk

I can write DVD's fine, but make sure you're choosing the right option in K3B as I tried making a DVD once, but as a data CD - doh! :P