Linux For All? The Frustrated Beginning

Guest melchizedeck

Guest melchizedeck

Hi, I have mandrakelinux installed i moved to linux for first time,last weekend,(i mean, i am a brandnew novice) i had to reinstall linux four times, last on sunday at night.Well i like it , and tried to look for games,applications and software in the web, i found and downloaded a few games, then i discovered that there is not .exe file like in windows, looking throught the web for help i discovered that i have to compilate software ( i don`t know what compilate means) and i don`t know how to compilate games,software or a screensaver to run in linux. I saw some commands like MS-DOS in windows that i think i have to type to compilate games, but where and how may i do this in linux?, i also installed a package that emulate windows(it comes in the mandrakelinux install CDs)but after installed, i dont know where to look for the emulator and there is no icon that point to it. Sorry if those topics are not for this forum,but i need help. I think that linux would be more popular if there were documentations with topics like this. I tried some forums but it seems like nobody like novice like me,then i asked myself what for are the forums?, just for experts that have some troubles with a software or something?, what about the new comers like me that want to get into the linux world?.Mandrakelinux does not cover topics about compilating,installing and runnig compilated software in the manual (at least, not in deep). thanks for your time to read this.

Jim Mirabal

Guest knightrider

Hi. I am new in Linux to. Some tips:

1.- You need to know the conceps of compressed files (like Winzip)

2.- You have to learn what the console is and how to write command on it.

3.- The installations in Linux comes in .TAR and .RPM files.

4.- In general (not always) you have to compile the programa yourself. This is transform the source code into the executable file.