Boot up Linux or XP?

996rxa

Hello,

I'm new to Linux. I've purchassed a DVD in a French magazine it's Mandrake 2006.

I had it installed on an older computer where there was already a version of Windows XP (formated NTFS). When I boot there is a dialogue box that prompts offering the two OS, if I wait Mandrake starts up and waits till I type my ID (root) and password; or if I use the arrows I can select XP and Windows becomes the OS. All works fine as it was done by a technician.

I want to install myself Mandriva 2006. As I of ten installed Windows myself I'm confortable doing it.

Currently XP is all set up and working fine on a 120Gbit harddrive. The drive is almost entirely free.

I wonder if I install Mandriva myself will I also obtain this dialogue box at boot up? Or do I need to follow specific steps to obtain this dialogue box?

(I hope I'm clear as I'm French speaking!)

Welcome to the board.

Certainly, you will be able to install Mandriva alongside Windows. First backup your Windows files (just in case). Then you need to defragment the Windows partition, as you will need to resize it to make room for Mandriva. Even though the disk is almost free, Windows tends to claim all available space by putting some files at the end of the partition. After you have defragmented the HD, put the Mandriva DVD in the tray, reboot the box and make sure that it boots off the DVD. This depends on the BIOS, in some cases you need to change the boot device sequence in the BIOS, in other cases you can interrupt the boot process and specify that you wish it to boot off the DVD. Then follow the installation instructions.