Change boot theme with Gnome

leupi

Just to let you all know, I am a real Linux newbie, that said, here is my problem...

I am trying to change the boot theme and nothing seems to work. I am using Mandrake 10.1 and Gnome 2.6. I went to http://art.gnome.org/ and downloaded a couple of boot themes. I then went to gdmsetup > Graphical Greeter and successfully added the theme. I then chose the theme and clicked on 'close'. I logged out and back in but the boot theme never changed.

I opened the Mandrake Control Center > boot > boot theme and the only theme there to choose is 'Discovery'. Any clues as to what I am doing wrong? Thanks.

Todd

hi and welcome aboard :)

umm.. i think you need to clarify something... do you want to change the gnome-login screen or the gnome splash (the picture you see when you login) or do you want to change the bootup-screen (=bootsplash)? what you get at art.gnome.org are splash-screens and gdm themes but NOT bootscreens/bootsplash.

if you want to change a bootsplash, make sure you have installed the bootsplash package. set up mirrors with easyurpmi (information on this is on this forum, faq section and available with google) and install bootsplash in the mandrake-controlcenter. there is also an additional bootsplash themes package for changing the theme.

if you want to change the gdm theme, double click on the theme you want to use at the selection screen (the dot needs to be marked, otherwise it will still use the old theme)

if you want to change the gnome-session splashscreen, you can edit it with gconf or (if you have installed gtweakui) with the sessions-preferences tool on advanced gnome settings.

i hope this helps a bit. :)

hi and welcome aboard :)