Need help with 10.1

murphman9

Hi, I'm fairly new to linux, i have used knoppix and some other linux os that boot from a cd but Mandrake 10.1 (community) is the first i have installed on a computer. Well 2nd, i had red hat 9 installed but was having the same problem that i am now.

I have a planet WL-8310 Wireless card, i guess that there isn't a driver in mandrake that comes with it. or most other linux os for that matter. I am just wondering if there is anyone who can help me set it up, or show me where i can learn how. I have searched for hours with no luck so i have come here.

Anyways, i found a few things, ndiswrapper and madwifi, but i'm not sure if they are already on mandrake or if i need to install them, which i don't really know how to do, but i'm sure i could if i had instructions. will those help me get my card running? or can anyone tell me how to? O yea, and i put both those on a disk in case i need them

I would really appreciate it. I hope my hours of searching don't go to waste and i just have to give up and wipe mandrake. Thanks for all your help.

Edited by murphman9

Madwifi is probably the way to go with this card. Look here:

After you untar the madwifi pkg, cd into the new directory it creates and read the INSTALL and/or README file. Also, look here:

http://mandrakeusers.org/index.php?showtop...7892&hl=madwifi

ok, i got that, i'm pretty sure i have the make file setup correctly, once i ran it heres what happened. i'm just going to put the errors since i'm typing this all out

if_ath.c: In function 'ath_beacon_tasklist':

if_atg.c:1070:warning: implicit declaration of function 'pci_dma_sync_single'

if_ath.c: In function 'ath_sysctl_stats':

if_ath.c:2516: error: too few arguments to function 'proc_dostring'

if_ath.c: In function 'ath_sysctl_handler':

if_ath.c:2527: error: too few arguments to function 'proc_dointvec'

if_ath.c: In function 'ath_sysctl_dump':

if_ath.c:2552: error: too few arguments to function 'proc_dostring'