Disappointing MDK10.1 install [Unsolved]

yr2alex

First things first this is not an indictment against Mandrake, and despite my (hopefully isolated) experience with Installing MDK 10.1 I have not lost faith in Mandrake. Simply put Mandrake (just Rocks!!) and it is my absolute favorite rpm based distro since 8.2. Now that we have gotten that out of the way here is the dilemma that I am facing... and just in case your are asking- the answer is yes!! I am a newb and I'm proud of it. I will continue being a newb until I decide to stop learning, so there..

After anxiously awaiting and finally learning of it's release (from this forum I might add) I wasted no time in acquiring the first set of iso's in which I used to embark upon this now seemingly tedious journey. Excuse my wordiness and please allow me to vent.

I started by going to mandrakes website, Mandrake Download Page

to find out exactly where I could obtain the much desired iso's. I had never done that in the past I usually go to my favorite ftp. I figured if any one knew where to find suitable iso images the source of the images would. To my surprize I found my favorite ftp site listed GA-Tech yr2alex's favorite ftp site for linux iso's after clicking on the bottom link. I downloaded the software here at my job intentionally because of the advantage of expontentially increased bandwidth, what would have taken me 2 days between work and (or perhaps the lack of) sleep took me 30min if that.

I had a similar experience with the more recent release of FC3 but that is :offtopic: so I won't bother with that. The only reason I bothered to mention that is because I want ed to make sure that every stone was turned as not to repeat the fiasco. In short I checked, checked, checked oh did I mention checked?

I used XP at work (hold the flames down) as soon as the iso's completed downloading

I immediately grabbed the "Mandrakelinux-10.1-Official-Download-CD.md5.asc" from the ftp site then entered