Internet Problems help

biga2710

hey guys im a noob to linux i have mandrake 9.1 installed i cant get online. Ok so i read the faqs and searching things that would pertain to me but i got nothing i tried nothing worked.

SO i have the rlt8139 driver it recongizes it it says its connected but no inet.

ok so i have a linksys router connected to my cable modem and my comp is connecrted to the router.

i tried to do dhcp like my windows comps to see if it would do it auto no luck

so then i tried the static ip i gave it 192.168.1.100, and so on with the default gateway.

i try to ping anything it times out, i got to ping myself that worked good and fast i tried to ping the router times out and i try to ping yahoo and other pages no luck

Who ever helps me fix this problem ill paypal them 15 buck i have money and deseperate to make this work thanks guys. i did read the pinned info didnt help or im slow

Mode Note:phunni edited title

hi there :)

you say, you are using a router. if you are connected to a router via a ethernet-card, you do not need a static ip most times. usually, routers use dynamic ip's (dhcp). go to your internet-settings (e.g. from networking tool or via text editor (/etc/sysconfig/networkscripts/ifcfg-eth0)) and change your ip settings from static to dhcp. restart your network after that. does it work then? if no, please open a terminal, log in as root (type su, then root password) and post the contents of:

ifup eth0

ifconfig

iptables -nvL

good luck. :thumbs:

ps: we do not work for money in here. we are not microsoft-like. :P

Edited by arctic

ya i hate ms also im pro at it but linux is where its at but im a complete retard when it comes to that. Im spending hours on hours trying to read and learn it.

ok so i had it on dynamic and i checked the ip the router wasnt giving it one, also i couldnt ping the router which is problbaly the problem, ok ill get u the info u requested im so excited to jump into the open source era and make others join