mess with red carpet & Evolution

kmack

I tried to upgrade my Evolution to 1.2 using Red Carpet but had a problem with soup pkg

Now my Opera is goofed up and shuts down unexpectedly and there is no sign of evolution being installed on the menus, etc.

I am a newbie and a bit baffled on how to start putting things back together. I would like to restore my Opera and get the Evolution running if possible.

Do I need to uninstall the Evolution and Opera and start over? Any chance of saving my bookmarks in Opera if I do this?

Here is console error message from Red Carpet run

warning: Actual size: 325491

warning: Expected size: 418830 = lead(96)+sigs(149)+pad(3)+data(418582)

error: unpacking of archive failed on file /usr/lib/libsoup.so.3.3.4;3dede09d: cpio: read

I am running ML8.2 on Abit KR7A-133 Athalon 1.6XP 512MB RAM and 40GB Maxtor

Thanks for any starting tips anyone can offer.

Two things I can suggest that should work: (1) install the entire Ximian desktop package. This will restore evolution and allow you to reinstall Opera or (2) install Mandrake 9.0 onto your system.

Either one should reverse the damage done.

The only other thing that I can suggest is to try and uninstall both Opera and Evolution and to start over. Try installing evolution from either source or rpm, and not through red carpet and then install opera.

Thanks for fast input and option suggestions.

Wonder if I could just try to do the one package that is goofy (soup 0.7.9-1.ximian.1) and see if that would resolve it?

I just got 9.0 CD's, and plan to upgrade but haven't studied the best way to do it yet. This is a new system (2mos) so isn't too loaded yet and I don't know whether to do fresh install or try to upgrade over the existing 8.2.

Anyone have suggestions on best option? I do have some bookmarks I'd like to save, but everything else is pretty expendable. I don't have a CDRW or backup media except for floppy so options are limited.