problem installing 9.2 and 10

Guest MSAleinzap

Guest MSAleinzap

i have tried 5 or six times each installing 9.2 and 10.0 on my compaq laptop with 4.5 gigs and windows 98. Windows is gone... i think... every time i install i say "erase entire disk" it works after that to some extent but still when it starts the install with the packages, it starts installing and then all of a sudden this error comes up saying : "there was an error installing this package.... do u want to continue anyway? YES OR NO. when i click yes it keeps going but then like 100 errors keep coming up saying the same thing with the next package getting installed.... what do it do????????????????????????????????????????????? all i want is to install any working mandrake distribution on my laptop which can work, because i can t use windows and i want to switch to linux... can someone tell me how i can do this with a minimal amount of trouble?

thanks!!! i know im a newb but hey, plz help if u can

moved from Installing Mandrake by spinynorman

Did you do a checksum of the CDs you downloaded? The frst thing to check is that the packages you installed are not corrupted. This might have happened either during download or when you burnt the CD. The first thing to check is that the md5sums match the downloads. If that's ok, then it's worth trying to burn the CDs again.

If you've done both those things and you still get the same problem - it's time to start looking at your system to see if we can figure this out - but those are definately the first steps.

To do the md5sum check simply do

md5sum <iso-filename>

for each of the downloaded ISO files (replaceing <iso-filename> with the actual file name). This will give you a long list of characters. There should also be md5sums on the server where you downloaded the files - if they match the results of you md5sum then all is good there. If not then I'm afraid you have to download again...

Guest MSAleinzap