Web Design?

All,

I want to build a web page that users can enter form data and schedule events or activities.

I've already got the form data part going using PERL (CGI parsers, etc) and I think I can pull together a calendar.

On the other side of this, I want to be able to generate reports and process the user-submitted information for other applications (the applications could be as simple as presenting the data in an HTML report, or a little more complex - interacting with Outlook and perhaps some other Winbloze apps). I will be using a MySQL database to store all of the data.

To build this and make it all work together (Linux & Winbloze), would PHP be best? PERL? JAVA? I'm not a coder, but I can muddle my way through PERL.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Scott

if PHP offers the functions you want to use it for, it is very nice.

Since it can run on all Linux servers and is also used a LOT on Windoze servers, this would be a good choice if you're concerned about the server platform it will have to run on. Plus there are LOADS of forums, tutorials, information available on the web for PHP.

Thanks for your responses. In my experience, JAVA is a slow pig. I don't have any experience with PHP, but I have looked at some of the tutorials on PHP.net and it doesn't look too terribly bad.

Do you know of any IDEs that play nice with PHP? I know CoffeeCup HTML editor has some PHP stuff in it for websites, but is there a good IDE for creating UIs?

Thanks again!!!

Scott

PHP ui's are created using HTML, PHP spits out the HTML to the browser. Take a look at a PHP tutorial, and have a look at the basics. It is an awfully easy language that you could learn the basics in just an hour, and get onto the harder stuff.

To write PHP, usually its best to find an editor that you like, most editors do syntax hilighting

My preference is Cooledit

however these are also very good:

vi/vim

gedit

I am not sure about what offerings KDE has