Internet Sharing and Networking with Mandrake & XP

Guest sniper

Hello everyone. I'm pretty new to Mandrake but have had my 2 computers networked together fine when both had XP Pro on them. I decided to put Mandrake 9.2 on one of them (the one with the modem and the direct internet access). I am having tons of problems getting Mandrake to share the internet with my other XP machine or even getting Mandrake to see XP or XP to see Mandrake. I have set the workgroups to the same value on both machines but still no connection is shown between them. Is there a simple guide with some screenshots I can look at that could step me through how to configure Mandrake as the "sharer" and XP Pro as the "receiver"? Thanks everyone again.

I think the explaination to all of this is you tried the Internet Connection Sharing from Mandy.

This uses shorewall, a firewall.

If this is misconfigured then your connections between 2 machines will neverwork.

You can stop the firewall and test with

shorewall stop.

I don't know if any ocumentation exists for the wizard (apart from the source code) but the Shorewall documentation wil be meaningless to the Mandrake setup.

Try stopping the firewall and see if you can connect the two machines.

B4 I had broadband/router for 2 machines, I successfully had a dialup modem, ML9.1 as the gateway/firewall, and Win2k accessing the internet through eth's, but the only way I got it to work was with static ip's>mcc>Network & Internet>DrakGW. It worked in reverse as well. I never got samba/linneighborhood to work :roll: :oops: . I haven't tried samba with dhcp/router, ML9.2 yet.

If you have two NIC's the easiest way is the quickstart files on the shorewall site.

However, the sharing etc. through one adaptor is one of those things.

It really shouldn't work (I know MS do it) but it onvolves a bit of trickery where you use virtual eth devices (as far as I know)