LILO boot not behaving

Guest bartell

Newbie here, Mandrake 9.1 is awesome! But I can't figure out a glitch....I've configured the default o/s as windows (for the wife and kids!) but when the machine starts up, lilo loads linux by default. Here is a copy of my lilo.conf

boot=/dev/hda

map=/boot/map

vga=normal

default="windows"

prompt

nowarn

timeout=100

message=/boot/message

menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw

image=/boot/vmlinuz

label="linux"

root=/dev/hdb1

initrd=/boot/initrd.img

append="quiet devfs=mount hdc=ide-scsi acpi=off"

vga=788

read-only

image=/boot/vmlinuz

label="linux-nonfb"

root=/dev/hdb1

initrd=/boot/initrd.img

append="devfs=mount hdc=ide-scsi acpi=off"

read-only

image=/boot/vmlinuz

label="failsafe"

root=/dev/hdb1

initrd=/boot/initrd.img

append="failsafe devfs=nomount hdc=ide-scsi acpi=off"

read-only

other=/dev/hda1

label="windows"

table=/dev/hda

other=/dev/fd0

label="floppy"

unsafe

Can anyone see why this is happening?

I think the quotes are OK, but the problem is what pmpatrick has said. After editing, you must run lilo as root in order for the changes to take effect.

OK, I ran lilo -v as root. The resulting message was " Reading boot sector from /dev/hda

Fatal: creat /boot/map~: Read-only file system"

I'm assuming the Fatal part is not good.

Don't know if this helps but my hda contains win o/s (NTFS) and two logical drives (one NTFS, one FAT32). hdb is loaded with md9.1.

Here's a copy of my lilo.conf if it helps.. In my case, I have 2 physical hard drives, each with multiple partitions.

boot=/dev/hda 

map=/boot/map 

vga=normal 

default="Mandrake91" 

keytable=/boot/us.klt 

prompt 

nowarn 

timeout=3000 

message=/boot/message 

menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw 

image=/boot/vmlinuz 

label="Mandrake91" 

root=/dev/hdc7 

initrd=/boot/initrd.img 

append="quiet devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off" 

vga=788 

read-only 

other=/dev/hda1 

label="Windows2000" 

table=/dev/hda