Need Help Badly

dinsmorem

first off I'm a newbie to Mandriva. I got sick of Vista , wiped it out and installed Mandriva 2009. everything is great except no sound. so please can someone help me? as I said I am a newbie so any instructions provided will have to be written for an idiot. i will need step-by-step instructions. any and all help is greatly appreciated. thank you.

Intel 82801G HDA can use several different codecs. Can you be more specific? (mainboard, or laptop model, for example).

do you think you will able to help me? elsewhere I saw people being advised to install a new kernel to correct this type of problem. is that what I should do?

No, it's almost sure you won't need a kernel upgrade to fix this. You may need to blacklist the pc-speaker module, or pass certain switches to your snd-hda-intel sound module, but it's almost certain that no kernel upgrade is needed.

What do you get if you give

lsmod  | grep snd

in a ROOT console?

Edited by scarecrow

in a ROOT console?
To clarify. You need to start up your konsole/terminal, via your menu in the Tools section or by doing Alt & F2 then type: konsole. Once your konsole/terminal is running type: su press enter then enter your root password and press enter.

Now run the command that scarecrow posted.

Have you checked your mixer settings? Have you checked if the drivers are installed under Mandriva Control Centre--> Hardware? Do you get sound out of the headphone socket?

the mixer setting all are set correctly.

under drivers it shows "snd_hda_intel [alsa]"

no sound out of the headphones

the mixer setting all are set correctly.

under drivers it shows "snd_hda_intel [alsa]"

no sound out of the headphones