Why different distro's?

Hello everyone,

I am extremely new to linux. I tried to do redhat 9.0 and had problems with it so went to mandrake it is working just fine. I was wondering what makes one Distro better than another? Now I know all you advanced users are looking down on me as an idiot but thats the stage I want to get out of. So im asking, What makes Mandrake better that Redhat, or Suse better than Gentoo?

-Neocytrix

Absolutely nothing. There really is no best or better distro. There is simply different focuses for each distro and which focus best matches your own.

Mandrake - focused on the newbie desktop home user, also tends to be very cutting edge in terms of included software versions

Red Hat - focused on the business desktop market, and goes more for stability than cutting edge versions (although that is changing some)

SuSe - focused on just about everyone

Gentoo - focused on the do it yourself user

Debian - focused on the totally secure stable server/desktop market

And each distro do some things better then other distros and other things worse. I personally use both Red Hat and Mandrake. Mandrake on my desktop server because I really like the more cutting edge features and the urpmi packaging system. However, Red Hat is the only distro that I can time after time install with out a problem onto notebooks, so that is what I use on my laptop.

The best advice is to try each of them that interest you and stick with the one that you like best. That is the true strength of open source software -- choice.

Welcome to the board, and we try not to look at anyone like they are in idiot! We are were noobs once. :wink:

It mostly comes down to prefernece. Almost all distro's have there advantages/disadvantages to another one.

MDK/RH/SuSE are all good RPM and starter distro's, (advanced users use them too)