creating new partition with diskdrake?

Guest quakey

Guest quakey

Hi,

I just created a new parition with DiskDrake and it's hdb5. However, when I try to mount it, it says the device hdb5 doesn't exist. I look under /dev, and it's not there.

I think if I reboot, the device may get created or not. I don't know since I haven't rebooted yet and I don't want to reboot. I want to learn how to do this without rebooting. So how can I get my linux to recognize the new partition? Thank you!

Guest quakey

LOL...

I know...but I was just wondering if there is a way to do it without a reboot.

No, DiskDrake didn't ask me to reboot. It did modify the fstab tho.

BTW, I still haven't rebooted yet...waiting for a solution...hehe

hi,

i'm not good at linux but it seem to me this is a case where there is no shame at rebooting ;-)

doesn't DiskDrake ask you to do so ?

roland

always tell diskdrake to format twice, because sometimes it will not. Also, as you tried already, always check that the new partitions are there and can mount. If you tranfer data to the new, alway check that it's there b4 deleting from the old. No, I d/k why it does it :roll: :wink:

Guest quakey

Still not working...

I tried both DrakDisk and fdisk command to create a new partition but none of them worked! No device files were created. I am getting frustrated.

It's so weird. I can SEE the new partitions I created in DrakeDisk or in fdisk (with the p command), but there is not device file for the partitions.

Someone please help. Thank you.

always tell diskdrake to format twice, because sometimes it will not. Also, as you tried already, always check that the new partitions are there and can mount. If you tranfer data to the new, alway check that it's there b4 deleting from the old. No, I d/k why it does it :roll:  :wink: