starting pcmcia hangs at bootup

Guest id4398

Guest id4398

Hello,

I am a linux newbie, i am trying to install mandrake linux on presario 2175 AMD 2400+, ATI mobility Radeon U1. I have no pcmcia cards attached. The install goes fine, it detects the vedio card. But the boot up the system hangs at "Starting PCMCIA" i tried nopcmcia bootup argument, but i still have this problem.

Please help.

Thanks

Welcome!

It's said you can pass

nopcmcia

to the kernel at boot/install.

Press F1 at the first screen and for a normal install type

linux nopcmcia

If you're doing the expert install

expert nopcmcia

You could also try (I'll explain 'try' in a minute)

linux pcmcia=off

If you look at the kernelparameters.txt

http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewtopic.php?t=3099

you won't find nopcmcia or pcmcia anything except a 'state'discrption, AND if you google this search ( I did quickly) you won't see any success with it either......but you could try it anyway :wink:

Can you turn it off in your bios?

Guest id4398

I waited for 5-7 minutes,but nothing came up, so i restarted the laptop. But the same problem, so i turned it off. Any idea how much time i should wait (like 10-15 minutes)?

No i am not going to put any PCMCIA card in there. I have integrated wireless 54g (which i guess is not supported for now), so no plans to use PCMCIA slot. Any idea how to disable it, if i boot using rescue mode.

Thanks

i would follow what bvc said and try to disable it in the bios. I think you press F1 at the initial boot-up screen to get into the bios on a Compaq. Take a look in there and see if you can find a way to turn it off.

On a separate note, does this freeze happen when you are trying to boot for the install or do you already have Mandrake installed?

Guest id4398

I already have mandrake installed on the laptop. The installation went fine without any problems. It freezes at the boot time(infact the first boot).

Thanks.

You can also tell the bootloader (lilo?)

nopcmcia