Serious bandwith delay with Mandrake Bamboo as gateway

emilioestevezz

Hi, i finally get my Mandrake 9.1 Up and Running, but i got a big problem. I use the pc that i just installed mandrake as a gateway, the thing is that i got a ADSL (512k) connecction, and when i use it with Win Nt i was able to provide my work intranet of a reasonable navigation speed, but now with mandrake its awfully slow i got very slow connecctions and i don´t know why. As i am new to linux i really don´t know where to search the problem, and i cant find good documentation on the net or tweaking tools as i used in Windoze, can anybody help me! the hole office is just about to kill me because they said that before with Nt the have incomparable faster connecctions than with linux i don´t want to install Nt again i´ve seen linux in action an simply it just can´t be compared with any Microsot Server Os. What can i do, or where i can find good tutorials or how to´s??

PS: I ´ve tested adsl modem with a notebook and connecction speed is good, so im afraid i got a problem with Bamboo´s configuration.

Useful info:

Got 2 nics, both with static address manually assigned, both set to sart at boot, one of them is 3com 3c509 10mb and the other generic brand 10/100mb. Gaeway= Pentium II, 300Mb Ram, S3 Virge Video with 8Mb, 40G Seagate , 7200rpm hard drive. ADSL connecction 512mb.

Got running some servers as:

Apache 2.0

Postfix

Samba

DHCP

Postgresql

Ok, I don't know much about netwoking, but shorewall is teh firewall on your computer. All configs of it are locatred in /etc/shorewall.

Here is the site:

http://www.shorewall.net/

There are some how-to's...

Heopfullt this helps....and hopefully(again:)) soemone helps you as quick as possible out of this one, so your office canb enjoy speed again.

(Once you have done this, maybe also a proxy???? if people there use teh same page frequentley???)