Mandrake 2007 - Netgear WPN111

Brendon

Hi all,

I have just installed Mandrake 2007 on my sony vaio (PCG F809k) which has no ethernet adaptor.

I do have a Netgear WPN111 USB WIFI adaptor and I have read here that people have managed to get it to work. The problem is, I am a complete novice when Linux OS is concerned and with a laptop that is completely isolated from the internet it is proving quite difficult.

I have managed to download and copy on to my Mandriva desktop via Pen Drive "ndiswrapper-1.53.tar.gz" & "WPN111.tar.gz" I have read and believe I will need these.

All I need now is a shove in the right direction (bearing in mind im a novice) on how to install this USB WIFI adaptor with Mandrake.

Thanks in Advance,

Regards,

Brendon

Im affraid not, I have tried pointing ndiswrapper to the wpn driver but it seems to fail. I have tried upgrading ndiswrapper but I failed again.

Where would be the best place to copy files with mandriva because i cant seem to browse the desktop with konsole?

Cheers the Yin Yeti

Brendon

You need the Mandriva Control Centre and not the KDE Control Centre. Do Alt & F2 and put mcc, click run, input your root password and press enter. Go to Network & Internet--> Setup a new network interface (LAN, ISDN, ADSL, ...) there you will see Wireless follow the wizards directions. If this should fail, for the ndiswrapper to work, you will need to unpack (unzip) the .tgz, try right clicking it and you should see an extract here option. Using ndiswrapper browse to the folder and it should take if from there.

Edited by {BBI}Nexus{BBI}

thanks for your reply {BBI}Nexus{BBI}, but im affraid this method has failed me, I get this error,

"Some components (firmware) are required but aren't available for ndiswrapper hardware. Firmware files are required for this device. The required files can also be installed from this URL: http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.netmediawik....php/list"