FTP Server

Guest Grimey

Guest Grimey

In Windows I ran an FTP server that had a bunch of music/movies/files etc that I put up so that my friends could get them from me. I use both Windows and Linux due to school issues and the fact that I'm a noob in LInux and I was wondering if there is anyway to setup a FTP Server that allows users to access my Windows shares. I found a good tutorial on setting up an FTP server in general at the mandrake website but for whatever reason it doesn't seem to have a start point, like it jumps in assuming I can get to that FTP Server setup screen and well I can't...any suggestions?

Hi

I don't run any FTP server and never set one up. However, I know that if you install 'drakwizard' from RPMdrake, you will end up having a new icon in the the MCC. This icon will let you access a bunch of wizards to set servers like ProFTPd, Apache, Dhcp .. etc. So that could be a start point for you.

HTH

MottS

I'm afraid the setting up the ftp server wizard in drakwizard just setup whether the ftp server is viewable via internet or intranet. So it's not a good beginning.

Anyway, there is a tutorial of how to setup a ftp server in the Old Docs section above. It basically shows you how to edit your /etc/proftpd.conf file so that you have an anonymous ftp working. Here is the exact link

http://www.mandrakeuser.org/docs/connect/cftp.html

I used that link to start having a ftp server up and running in no time. The more advanced version shows how to make an authenticated ftp.

Hope that helps.

Guest Grimey

Now in setting up an anonymous FTP like that it will allow anyone access and it will also also allow a set number or users right? So I can limit the usage...

Now in setting up an anonymous FTP like that it will allow anyone access and it will also also allow a set number or users right?  So I can limit the usage...

Yes

BTW, The DragonMage's link is perfect. Don't do my suggestion... those wizards sucks.