Problems while installing Mandriva 2007 [solved]

keith11

I am downloading Mandriva 2007 free DVD ISO. I have worked on linux (I am just a beginner always, because I use Linux off and on and end up with problems and then formatting my whole system, so no real experience) before and mandrake 9.2. My questions/concerns/doubts are as follows:

1. I am using Windows XP Pro SP2 and the thing I am afraid the most is that if Mandriva 2007 creates problem, at any stage, including the installation and if I wish to just stay with Windows, is it possible to undo all the changes Mandriva will make, like the entry in the boot prompt and other entries in the system? That has always been a big worry for me before installing any linux that they make some changes in the system and the boot prompt and then I can't find how to remove all the entries including the one in the bootprompt.

2. I also wanted to know if someone has been able to configure their Intel Pro 2200 b/g wireless cards on Mandriva 2007 or does Mandriva does this by itself? I have read on other forums where people say Mandriva does by itself and some say it doesn't; some say it won't work. It is extremely important for me that the wireless function on my Toshiba M35-S320 works.

3. I have 768 MB RAM and a 80 GB hard disk; how much should be my pagefile equivalent in linux and do I have to convert NTFS to FAT in order for Mandriva to recognize the files on windows drives?

4. Based on my experience with this free version I may buy the Mandriva 2007 Powerpack version. Will I be able to upgrade from free to Powerpack or will I have to re-install everything?

5. Are there other differences between the Powerpack and the free version other than that all software applications on free version are non-proprietary?