Second hard drive not recognized in Mandriva 2006

Clitheroe

Hello, everyone.

I'm a Mandriva newbie. I have formatted my second hard drive in Mandriva and want it to go under 'Devices' on the KDE desktop, so that I can just click on it to have access to it to store files. Whatever I do, and whichever mount point I choose, I just can't get this drive to 'show-up' anywhere so that I can use it.

It would appear to be the simplest thing to do, but having made the switch from Windows because I don't like many aspects of that operating system - I have to say such a task is a piece of cake on that OS. If anyone can help, I would be grateful.

David.

Welcome to MUB.

The 2nd hard drive needs to be mounted before you can see it.

Open Mandriva Control Centre and click on Mount Points then on Create, delete and resize hard disk partitions.

There you will see the hard drive listed then just follow the routine from there. When you close out of MCC and open Konqueror you will be able to find your Hard drive listed with the partition name you gave it when in MCC.

Hope this helps. John.

Hi, John.

Thanks for the welcome, and I appreciate your help. I finally got the drive mounted where I wanted it in 'Konqueror' - yipeeee, I thought - finally cracked it! However, I cannot access the drive due to not having the right 'permissions' apparently.

I have tried going into a terminal and using the 'chmod 777' command, but I'm not sure of the syntax. Do you or anyone else know exactly what I would have to type in the terminal window to allow read & write access to all users - or failing that, myself, 'david'.?

Cheers,

David.

The problems with accessing the drive aren't with chmod, but the mount options. Normally, you need to use "umask=0" to ensure you get full read/write access rights.