Mandriva 10.1 on Compaq Presario 1255 problem

john_tan

Hi All,

This is my first time trying to install Linux on my Compaq Presario 1255(a very old notebook). Please advise me.

I have downloaded all 3 CD iso and burned them to CDs. During the installation of the first CD, I encountered this error: cannot load kernel-i586-up-1GB-2.6.12.12mdk-l-mdk.i586. It then asked whether to continue. I type Yes and continued. Then later 2 other packages also cannot be loaded: gnumeric-1.4.3-5mdk.i586 and kdeartwork-3.4.2-3mdk.i586

But when it was trying to install the bootloader, the same error appeared and I cannot continue the installation after that.

I thought maybe the iso image was corrupted and downloaded again, but the error still remains.

Any experts can advise me?

Thanks.

Welcome aboard. :)

Two possibilities:

1. You burn the images too fast. Use a low speed and high quality media. Also make sure that the md5sum check is positive (see the FAQ section of this board on how to perform md5sum checks)

2. The CD-drive of the notebook needs to be cleaned. Quite often those errors are due to dirty lenses or a laser that is not running 100% correctly along the CD (= that has e.g. a slight spin to the left or right side). CD-Cleaning is the easy part. If the laser is a bit dislocated, things are more tricky, as you have to remove the drive, open it and readjust it then.

Alternative option: If you have broadband, perform a ftp-install. For that you will only need the very first part of the CD (or download the mini-ftp-install iso), the rest will be downloaded directly from the ftp-mirrors.

Side note: The error on the kernel you got is a BIG error, as the kernel is the heart and soul of the system. Without a kernel installed, you will never be able to complete the installation. ;)

Are you sure it's Mandrake 10.1? The version of kernel and kde package are from Mandriva 2006!