Setting up my intranet

Guest nickademus420

Guest nickademus420

Hello. I recently installed Mandriva Linux Limited Edition 2006 using 3 cds that came with a Linux Format special edition magazine.

I am into the KDE desktop and have pretty much configured everything but my soundcard and my network.

I have found that this version of the Kernel, 2.4 I think, does not support the Rockwell Riptide Sound Card that I have, I will just go buy a new, cheap, supported card.

So, the big problem, is that I have no experience with a Linux network, and cannot seem to find the right program and or settings to see the other 2 computers on our 3 computer network.

All 3 are on the internet, so that is a good thing.

All 3 have an ethernet connection to a router which is on a cable connection.

Please advise as I have tinkered with Samba, and SMB4K and still have no idea how to link them up.

Thank you in advance.

:wall:

Welcome to the board!

Now, did you configure properly your NIC?

Can you ping other computers on a network (type 'ping ip_of_a_remote_computer)?

Have you created a shared folder/space on you linux mashine in samba? (you can post your '/etc/samba/smb.conf' file so we could see your samba configuration file.

Also: How-To set up Samba Networking

Are you sure you have a 2.4 kernel? Reason I ask is the last 2.4 kernel in Mandrake/Mandriva was version 9.x. Version 10.0 and higher have always been 2.6. Mandriva 2006 has kernel 2.6.12.12 by default and latest is 2.6.12.18 from last time I updated.

Guest nickademus420

You are probably right about the Kernel, but I don't know where to check that at.

Would you prefer that I post a link to the /etc/samba/smb.conf file, or just a text paste onto a post?

The easiest way to check your kernel version is with:

uname -r

this will just report the kernel version. If you want more information:

uname -a

the a reports all information.

Guest nickademus420