Audigy 4 and some other hardware support questions

Murda

Hi.

I just found out that World of Warcaft works under Linux with wine and cedega, so I'm getting closer to switch all my computers to Linux. And the reason why I'm asking these things here is that I've decided to make the switch to Mandriva 2006, if it is possible. I've been using Linux for a couple of years now, but only the server side, this thread is all about desktops/gaming computers.

I was searching for an answer for this one and found another thread (Mandrivausers.org - Hardware/Audigy 4) but it wasn't the thing that I was looking for. Does Sound Blaster Audigy 4 really work under Linux? I had problems with Hercules Digifire 7.1 card and everyone just kept telling me (on other bulletin boards and forums) that Linux doesn't have any 7.1 support and no-one's developing it. Is it true?

I don't need to have any 7.1 effects like in games where someone walks behind me, I hear the voice from the two rear speakers, just want that the music that I play comes out from all speakers at the same time and not only from the front speakers.

I've found out that my ATI/Connect 3D Radeon 9600 Pro works under Linux with previous Mandrake/Mandriva installs, but I wasn't able to get 3D acceleration to work properly, does it work in Mandriva 2006? My friend had the same problem in SuSE, so it might be a common Linux problem, not only Mandriva. ATI has these drivers for Linux, any experience with them? ATI Customer Care - Radeon Linux