Windows kills LiLo [solved]

fuego

Hello esteemed Mandriva users.

I have a boot issue with my XP/Mandriva2006 setup.

The drive is a 30Gb with partitions as follows:

1) 60Mb boot Fat32 - contains MBR

2)10Gb WinXp NTFS

3)9Gb DataStash Fat32

4)10Gb Linux Mandriva 2006

5)600Mb Linux swap

I first installed XP, ran fine. Then I installed Mandriva, awsome I love it.

I reboot and am presented with the LiLo menu. I chose Linux. It boots, yay no prob.

I reboot. I get Lilo menu. I choose win. It boots, Yay no problems. I reboot; it goes straight back to windows, no sign on lilo anymore.

I assigned Lilo to the root linux partition on install after trying it in the first partition, still no joy.

I tried adding a line to the boot.ini too but I don't know what file or location to point to to boot linux.

I am very new to linux. 3 weeks maybe.

Please can anyone enlighten me on this issue?

Thanks

~fuego~

Edited by fuego

So you can see what is happening and try to get away from the CLI or command line interface so early on in your experience, try the following.

Put in your No1 Mandriva disk and reboot, then do a "pretend" upgrade and follow through to the last summary of settings. In the part regarding the boot up, select grub if it is there as a choice as bootloader and select for it to be installed on the MBR (Master Boot Record) . If grub is not listed it means it was not installed so select lilo and again install it as bootloader on the MBR. You can also recheck other system settings as well then reboot.

All of this only takes a few minutes and is not as confusing as trying to use the CLI.

Cheers. John.

That "60MB FAT32 boot partition" is a bad idea. Who told you to do so?

Which partitions are primary?