FlashPlayer in 2006 free? [solved]

rogerh

Hello,

Need to install flashplayer, and I see it is on the 2006 free apps list. Can't find it on my 3 disk set or on the update source (using the install manager). Also cheched the deinstall to see if it was already lurking on the system - no). Wondering why it isn't there, where I can download an rpm version I can install via the installer, and what other plug-ins are also missing?? Has anyone else run into yhis problem...

thanks -- Roger

[moved from Installing Mandriva by spinynorman]

Hello,

Thanks for the reply and info. Nothing wrong with the Macromedia installer that I know about. I was wondering if realplayer was supersceeded by an alternate program or if there was a bug or other problem that caused it not to be included . I have also managed to break my system on several occasions ( a 'learning experience'), and found that if I can leverage the system installer my odds of success are greater. I am just a newbie that aspires to be a user rather than a sysprog.......hopefully that is not too un-Linuxlike :o

Regards -- Roger

Hi ,

Thanks for the tip - looked on the repositories, but with no luck. Did find an rpm on the FlashPlayer site (buried) but it was downlevel and my installer wasn't interested. Just one question before I install via the Macromedia installer - is there an issue with this not being tracked via the installer (future install conflicts)??

Thanks -- Roger

Spare yourself a lot of future aggravation and use the "Easy-Urpmi" link at the top of the page to setup main, contrib, plf-free and plf-nonfree urpmi sources. This will give you access to most of what you get in the powerpack version, excluding proprietary drivers which are generally avauilable from the vendor, eg nvidia, ati, ect. Also, you will not have to worry about dependency issues as urpmi takes care of that. IIRC the Realplayer package provides the plugin for flash. It should be in either the main or contrib repo.