LE2005 - CUPS can't see/add any network printers

Guest Meanun

Guest Meanun

Hello all,

Apologies if this should have gone in networking or installation forums instead of this one. I am a complete Linux newbie so again apologies if important info is not included in post.

I have a home network that is predominantly WinXP based. There are 2 printers; an Epson Sylus Color 600 attached to the LPT1 port of a NetportExpressPro printer server @ 192.168.1.20 and a HP photosmart 7960 attached to a XP box (usually 192.168.1.4 but not fixed.)

I have installed LE2005 on a AMD Duron 1300 which connects to my network by a Belkin WirelessG PCI card using the Rt2500 drivers that come with LE 2005. The wireless network works fine. Smb4k can see both the printer server and the HP. I can ping the printer server without problems. I can even FTP to it but i get gibberish output.

Unfortunately when i try to set up CUPS neither printer is seen. In the Add a new printer window i get the warning: No local network connection active, remote printers can neither be detected or tested. I have tried Google and checking the CUPS user manual and Software Administrators Manual but cant find an answer. I suspect there may not be a linux driver for the HP. I have downloaded the software from INtel for the printer server but it is pre-CUPS and the instructions appear to be invalid - i.e. cant run lpc enable and lpc start as instructed.

Does anyone have any suggestions please?

Thanks in advance,

Mark Wilson

[moved to Networking by arctic - welcome aboard!]

Hi, welcome to the board.

There are drivers for the HP available but you may have to install them yourself. I haven't tested this procedure on Mandrake for a while, but it works on my current gentoo install.

Ensure you have gimp print installed, then copy the ppd for your printer (link above) to /usr/share/cups/model

Ensure the cups server is running (you can use the mcc services menu for this)

Point your browser to localhost:631