Help! Having Problems Installing Ndiswrapper

NateDogg785

Hey i really need help with this. Ive tried to set up ndiswrapper but i dont know where to start. All the how to's and help with ndiswrapper that ive been able to find deal with getting it to work and dont include actually how to get the package or how ever it comes with mandrake to install on the system! Im a newbie and i really cant do much of any thing yet but i need the wireless to work (only viable means of internet). PLEASE i beg you, any one that can help walk me through the set up from the very beginning, PLEASE HELP!!! im running out of options....

Thanks...

[moved from Software by spinynorman]

Ndiswrapper is a kernel module (and some scripts I guess). A module is a driver. So what you do is installing a driver. If you want to understand how to 'load a module' (in windows: install a driver) read about the modprobe command.

Further, ndiswrapper isn't a normal driver. It's more a translation device between a windowsdriver and the linux kernel but that isn't really important.

If you're using Mandriva le2005 the setup should be automatic. Just let the Madriva Control Center set it up for you.

If you use an earlier version first try to set it up with the MCC if that doesn't work try :

https://mandrivausers.org/index.php?showtopic=14972 Just follow these instructions and tell us where you got stuck