10.1 / speed / open office / windows equivalent

Guest chrisblack

Guest chrisblack

As a total newbie to linux - I've managed to install 10.1 on an old K62 500 64mb laptop. and have a few questions.

1. I've installed Open Office and it is running in something other than English (possibly Catalan which the install process told me it must install language support for) - how do I get this back to English.

2. I was expecting it to run slowly 'cos of system spec, but it takes anything from 15 seconds to 3 minutes to launch an application (which I'm sure it shouldn't) - any suggestions on that (there appears to be a 484mb swap file set up duing the install process - if that has anything to do with it)

3. I'm obviously used to running windows, and so am looking for equivalent features to scandisk,defrag etc... where can i find these???

Thanks in advance - I'm sure I'll have loads more to ask.

Chris

Easy ones 1st....

scandisk/defrag are not needed in linux unless you are running on a windows partition. The filesystems are designed 'properly' and don't fragment like FAT partitions.

speed: Its the memory that's killing you. 64MB is absolutely minimum...

it will never be a speed demon but choosing a very lightwieght window manager would be a good start.

I have an XBOX running linux which is a PII-733 with 64MB RAM and running a light window manager is essential. Im using ratpoision right now but fluxbox or icewm are good bets. IceWM is usually installed in the install ...

(you need a sperate thread probably)

OpenOffice

I would deinstall the -ca (if you look in the MCC/software) then you can remove the -ca part and search for the openoffice...-en (if you want english)

It will be quite slow to open on the laptop but its OK once it is opened.

Guest chrisblack
OpenOffice

I would deinstall the -ca (if you look in the MCC/software) then you can remove the -ca part and search for the openoffice...-en (if you want english)