Can't Use GNOME

moonhowler

I'm new to linux, and trying to find my way - but finding lots of frustrations too.

I had to reinstall 10.0OE recently, and when the login GUI comes up, it shows only KDE and IceWM (and Default); GNOME is missing.

This happened on a previous reinstall too - but I don't remember what I did to get GNOME back on the login screen.

I've done some searching and tried the following, w/o joy:

A previous thread suggested trying <rpm -qa | grep gnome> in the console to find out if GNOME is installed; this is what was found:

gnome-mime-data-2.4.1-5mdk

libgnome2_0-2.4.0-4mdk

gnome-libs-1.4.2-7mdk

libgnomeprint-2.4.2-1mdk

gnome-print-0.37-5mdk

libgnomeprintui2-2_0-2.4.2-1mdk

gnome-terminal-2.4.2-2mdk

libgnome-vfs2_0-2.4.2-4mdk

libgnome2-2.4.0-4mdk

gnome-icon-theme-1.1.6-3mdk

libgnomeui2-2.4.0.1-2mdk

libgnome32-1.4.2-7mdk

libgnomeprint2-2_0-2.4.2-1mdk

libglade-gnome0-0.17-9mdk

libgnomeprint15-0.37-5mdk

gnome-desktop-2.4.1.1-2mdk

galaxy-gnome-1.0.0-5mdk

gnomemeeting-0.98.5-4mdk

libgdk-pixbuf-gnomecanvas1-0.22.0-2.2.100mdk

gnome-pim-1.4.9-5mdk

gnome-audio-2.0.0-1mdk

gnome-vfs2-2.4.2-4mdk

libgnomecanvas2_0-2.4.0-1mdk

libgnomeui2_0-2.4.0.1-2mdk

libgnome-desktop-2_2-2.4.1.1-2mdk

gnome-media-2.4.1.1-1mdk

gnome-system-monitor-2.4.0-1mdk

[root@localhost me]# rpm -qa | grep gnome2

libgnome2_0-2.4.0-4mdk

libgnome2-2.4.0-4mdk

I tried URPMI for all GNOME components it listed, and it said "everything already installed" for all components.

I don't know what else to do...any ideas?

Edited by moonhowler

hi there :)

there are still some packages missing, like gnome-panel or gtk-libraries. open mandrake control center, go to software install section and check the gnome box. this should install the missing libraries/rpms and make gnome available for you. if not, report back. ;)

good luck.

Hey Guys,

I'm not at my linux box right now...typing this on W*****s :(