Adding Another Distribution

Guest driggins

Guest driggins

Hi all. I'm a newbie, evaluating Mandrake and other distributions for potential implementation at my small non-profit's network. I have Mandrake 10.0 installed, but would like to add other distributions for evaluation. Physically, these are being installed to an 80 GB drive, attached as master on my secondary IDE channel.

My question: what is a good, uncomplicated way of installing another distribution for me to evaluate? In my mind, I can simply proceed with my next distribtion installation...it would find the "linux" hard drive...make whatever necessary partitions it requires...install...and add itself to my boot menu. Am I dreaming?

Secondary question - any suggestions on good distributions to evaluate? My needs are to create a small/scalable LAN server (which I think they all will do), have a very user friendly client environment, easy installation, stable, and provide support for Gnome. I realize Mandrake should do all of this...but is there another? I'm currently eyeing Slackware. Lycoris looks nice from the "easy to use" end, but I'm not sensing much broad, community support (specifically Evolution).

Thanks.

Secondary question - any suggestions on good distributions to evaluate? My needs are to create a small/scalable LAN server (which I think they all will do), have a very user friendly client environment, easy installation, stable, and provide support for Gnome. I realize Mandrake should do all of this...but is there another? I'm currently eyeing Slackware. Lycoris looks nice from the "easy to use" end, but I'm not sensing much broad, community support (specifically Evolution).