Notebook WPC11 Issues

Guest Psykobrat

Guest Psykobrat

I just installed Mandrake 10 on my laptop and i'm trying to get my wireless card to work, but i can't get anything, i'm new with linux so if anybody can help, it would be greatly appreciated

moved from Hardware by LiquidZoo

First off, welcome to the board!

I recently helped someone get this exact card working in Linux (Mandrake). First thing, check out this FAQ and follow it exactly. If your card is the same version, every instruction, with the exception of the "bind " entry is the same. Your card uses the prism_cs module, so when you get to that put "bind prism_cs" in the config file.

If you run into any problems, post back. We'll be happy to help out

Guest Psykobrat

Here are some quick options i get from mandrake itself without going into anything, Prism2_plx, prism2_usb, prism54 (Intersil 802.11 Wireless LAN adapter), would any of those work? or would that just be to easy for my luck? :D

Guest Psykobrat

I'm looking in the Mandrakelinux Control Center 10, and for ethernetcard it shows my onboard BCM4401 100Base-T (which works) and it also shows RTL8180 Realtek RTL8180 Wireless LAN (Mini-)PCI NIC

Vendor Realtek Semiconductor

Bus:PCI

Bus identification:10ex:8180:1737:19

Location on the bus: 3:0:0

Description: RTL8180 Realtek RTL8180 Wireless LAN (Mini-)PCI NIC

Module: (red) unknown

Media class: NETWORK_ETHERNET

since it finds it, do i still need to do all that stuff?

When i look at the led's on the card, the power light is on, but the Link light is not

First off, welcome to the board!

I recently helped someone get this exact card working in Linux (Mandrake).  First thing, check out this FAQ and follow it exactly.  If your card is the same version, every instruction, with the exception of the "bind " entry is the same.  Your card uses the prism_cs module, so when you get to that put "bind prism_cs" in the config file.

If you run into any problems, post back.  We'll be happy to help out