Mandrake 10.1 X Problem

sawan

I am a Linux Newbie. I installed Mandrake 10.1 on my system PIII 1GHz with 128 MB RAM.

I was trying things with Control Center but my X seem to crashed. I pressed Ctrl+Alt+backspace and it gave me login screen. But now even if entering right username and password it returns back to login screen.

Then I pressed Ctr+alt+F1 for console. and was able to login there. Then "su" command and then "xinit" .it said to remove/tmp/.X ....something file. I removed it .. rebooted the system using"reboot" command .. but I am still not able to login to KDE/GNOME. I can only work under console (to which i am not pretty familiar).

Now to enter X I first go to console, login as root, kill the "xdmkdm" process and then run startx.

Please help me out and plz provide me the link to some command line tools list which work in mandrake 10.1

Thanx a lot.

[moved from Networking by spinynorman - welcome aboard :)]

Start 'linux failsafe' at the bootsplash. Type: init 3. Login as user and type: startx startkde (that will start kde). It will probably fail but you will get to see an error. Post it here The error gets logged in /var/log/Xorg.0.log. You can read that log in a console with: cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | more.

Good luck

Start 'linux failsafe' at the bootsplash. Type: init 3. Login as user and type: startx startkde (that will start kde). It will probably fail but you will get to see an error. Post it here The error gets logged in /var/log/Xorg.0.log. You can read that log in a console with: cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | more.

AT the login I got the folowing error message

-bash: /etc/sysconfig/i18n: Permission denied

then when i ran startx startkde, it gave the following error

Failed to load module "/usr/X11RC/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a" (once-only module, 135962511)

/etc/X11/Xsession: line 11: /etc/sysconfig/i18n: Permission denied.